(Middlebourne, WV) Another superb night of action at America’s Baddest Bullring would welcome a great crowd, great weather, and 150 of the best racers would take to the Tyler County Speedway. Picking up wins would be NY’s Chad Brachmann, ‘Fast Freddy’ Carpenter, Kyle Thomas, Braeden Dillinger, Jeff Gorrell, Brandon McGrady, Billy Pratt, Cruz Thomas and Carson Thomas.
The BRP Big Block Modified Tour would make their annual trek to the Mountain State and parking it in the West Virginia University of Parkersburg Victory lane was North Tonawanda, New York’s Chad Brachmann over a stout field of 25 entrants. Brachmann would have his hands full for the races duration as Garrett Krummert was glued to the driver of the Sunflowers of Sanborn NY/ Niagara Lawn and Garden/ Stirling Lubricants and Champion Oil/ MadSkins/ Willco AutoCare/ Clover Ag Consultants/ Coffee Crazy Tonawanda/ Racers Preferred Models #3 machine. Following Brachmann and Krummert across the line was Rex King Jr., Eric Gabany, and Jr. McGinnley as the groundpounding BRP Big Blocks never disappoint.
It had been a rough start to the 2021 season to say the least for ‘Fast’ Freddy Carpenter after a vicious crash at East Bay in February but a trip to the ‘Bullring’ would be a cure all for the fastest ponytail in racing. The likeable Parkersburg, WV racer would take the J&R Excavating Super Late Model feature presented by Midcap Land and Timber checkered flag piloting the Johnny Boston General Contractor/ ProTech Auto Sales/ Kryptonite Chassis C4 machine around the topside of America’s Baddest Bullring to near perfection and hold off a hard charging Kyle Thomas to claim the win. Following Carpenter and Thomas was Brian Baumberger, Paul Wilmoth Jr., and Matt Lux.
Pennsboro, WV racer Kyle Thomas has picked up many a feature win at the Tyler County Speedway in everything from Mini Wedges, Street Stocks, FASTRAK Late Models and most recently Super Late Models. The talented and multi-time track champion is now piloting a UMP Modified and in only his 4th try in the division is now a feature winner in the competitive Jenkins Auto Parts UMP Modified division. A stout field of modifieds would roll into the ‘Bullring’ with the ‘G’ Man Gerald Deitch blasting off the front row and look poised to pick up his first feature win of the season, when mechanical woes would sideline the Powhatan racer. This would turn the lead over to an impressive running Chad Smith aboard his new Longhorn Chassis with Thomas glued to Smith as the race would wind down. With one lap to go, Thomas would roll around the topside and coming out of turn 4 for the checkered flag would just ease past Smith by a nose to claim the very exciting finish in front of the appreciative crowd. Following Thomas and Smith to the stripe was Cody Brightwell, Kenny Johnson, and Danny Thomas with his first top five in the UMP Mod class.
In the Appalachian Mineral Title Company FASTRAK division it was Pennsylvanian Braeden Dillinger picking up the win ahead of defending track champion Donnie Dotson, Hayden Jacobs, Brandon Weigle, and Nick Corbitt rounding out the top five.
Middlebourne, WV racer Jeff Gorrell would secure his 2nd trip to the West Virginia University of Parkersburg Victory lane in the Sigler Fabrication EDGE Hotmods presented by Poske Performance Parts over the Sigler Brothers, Tom and Josh. Rounding out the top five included Steve Magyar and Tyler Spencer.
In the Middlebourne Galaxy Sportmod division it was Salem, WV’s Brandon McGrady making his 2021 debut and parking it in the West Virginia University of Parkersburg Victory Lane. McGrady would vault from his 13th starting spot and overtake race leader and former winner Steven Dotson to pick up the win. Following McGrady was Dotson, TJ Arnold, Pat Garrett and Sonny Conley. McGrady pilots the Steve Northcraft owned Bever Farms/ Barnes Trucking/ Jenkins Auto Bandit Chassis.
Another strong field of Bullring Bombers would see Billy Pratt hold off a game Timothy Harlan Jr., Jeremy Perine, Landon Swiger and defending track champion Tim Coberly rounding out the top five.
The kids of the Phillips Drug MWRA Mini Wedges would kick off the night with Cruz Thomas besting Josh Baldwin and Bryson Roberts in the Junior Division. In the Senior class it was Carson Thomas grabbing his first win of the season ahead of Jake Casto and Keith Powell.
Be sure to join us next Saturday Night, May 8th for the RT2 Rumble OVS/Bullring Challenge for Super Lates, UMP Modifieds and Road Warrior Tour for the Sportmod division plus racing in all other classes.
Saturday Night, May 1st Tyler County Speedway Feature Results
BRP Big Block Modified Tour Feature: Chad Brachmann, Garrett Krummert, Rex King Jr., Eric Gabany, Jr. McGinnley, Kyle Fink, Rex King Sr., Brad Rapp, Steve Barr, Rick Regalski, Jim Rasey, Tony Pangrazio, Paul Kot, Mike Turner, Mark Frankhauser, Chris Rudolph, Tom Glen, Dillon Barr, Rodney Beltz, Shawn Kozar, Steve Slater, Nathan McDowell, John Venuto, Mike Dougherty, Dave Murdick
J&R Excavating Super Late Model presented by Midcap Land and Timber Feature: Freddy Carpenter, Kyle Thomas, Brian Baumberger, Paul Wilmoth Jr., Matt Lux, Shawn Jett, Tyler Stutler, Chad A. Smith, Derek Stefanick, Robbie Scott, Steve Weigle, DNS Travis Brown, Troy Frazier
Jenkins Auto Parts UMP Modified Feature: Kyle Thomas, Chad Smith, Cody Brightwell, Kenny Johnson, Danny Thomas, Justin Hart, Brian Clegg, Daniel Eddy, Doug Carson, Jim Ruckman, Robin Lashley, Travis Harper, Cody Henthorn, Casey Ash, Gerald Deitch, Kurt Rogers, James Swenskie, Travis Thomas, Paul Baker
Appalachian Mineral Title Company FASTRAK Late Model Feature: Braeden Dillinger, Donnie Dotson, Hayden Jacobs, Brandon Weigle, Nick Corbitt, Andy Spooner, Jarrett Spencer, Trey Watson, Ryan Hare, DNS: George Casto III, Matt West, Ryan Payne
Sigler Fabrication EDGE Hotmod presented by Poske Performance Parts Feature: Jeff Gorrell, Tom Sigler, Josh Sigler, Steve Magyar, Tyler Spencer, Zack Robinson, James Schnegg, Daniel Muldrew, Jamie Thomas, Crash Craddock, Kip Swiger, Dave Mackey, Ethan Springer, Logan Reed, JJ Arnold, Lou Ennis, Allen Clark, Caleb Thomas, DNQ: Mackenzie Dotson, Tripp Perine, Michael Lanham, Mickey Thorpe, BJ Dennis, Michael Thomas, Shelby Cochran, Todd Miller
Middlebourne Galaxy Sportmod Feature: Brandon McGrady, Steven Dotson, TJ Arnold, Pat Garrett, Sonny Conley, Wesley Reed, Randy Bise, Dave Wright, Bill Sigmon, Roland Fulmer, Jason Todd, CJ Dotson, Chris Thomas, Nathan Drake, Ashley Simonton, Dwight Henry, Zack Marks, Justin Robinson, Larry Higgins, Mike Hayhurst, DNS Sonny Leek, Charles Nixon
Bullring Bomber Feature: Billy Pratt, Timothy Harlan Jr., Jeremy Perine, Landon Swiger, Tim Coberly, Jake Tidd, Jason Frazier, Eric Tidd, Katelyn Tidd, Scott Critchfield, Kenny Harris, Jay Todd, Billy Bunnell, Donnie Dotson, Mike Todd, DNS: Tanya Colvin, Bryce Bolden, Joe Felter, Haley Muncy
Phillips Drug MWRA Senior Feature: Carson Thomas, Jake Casto, Keith Powell, Wyatt Demoss, Peyton Baker
Phillips Drug MWRA Junior Feature: Cruz Thomas, Josh Baldwin, Bryson Roberts, Remington Demoss, Owen Sabota, Kyndi Glover, Colten Grimes, Arianna Henthorn, Leah Brightwell, Brielle Todd